Cheat Day Journal

After one of the longest self-imposed blogging breaks, I am back. The time I would have been using for my loosely defined blog posting process has been occupied by looking for a job. As much as I would enjoy writing these posts for a living, my strengths lie elsewhere, but I digress.

On to the body of this post:

I sped through one of Tim Ferriss’s masterpieces (The Four-Hour Body) last December and adopted the Slow-Carb diet lifestyle starting on January 1, 2016. It has been a smashing success and a catalyst for my life’s satisfaction.

Since starting, I have followed the Slow-Carb Diet religiously only eating foods listed as compliant with it during 6 out of every 7 days. The seventh day of every cycle, which I have designated as Saturday, is lovingly reserved for “Cheat Day.” Saturday is the best day of most weeks for this and multiple other reasons.

If you are reading this, you are probably attuned to the Cheat Day phenomenon. In case you are unfamiliar, it is becoming more widely understood that eating high-sugar, high-fat foods for one day each week keeps your metabolism at its optimal level. That is an unscientific explanation, but is as simply as I understand it.

Like other Saturday’s of 2016, I set out to indulge in the tastiest cuisine I could find without regard for its nutritional value this past Saturday. Below is what I ate and drank in chronological order with illustrations:

-4 homemade cookies (cream cheese chocolate chip)

-Sausage, egg and cheese croissant with hash browns and a fountain Powerade (Burger King)

-20 oz. Gatorade

-Sugar cookie

-Pack of Planters trail mix

-Dave’s double cheeseburger (Wendy’s)

-Small Chocolate Frosty (Wendy’s)

12:30 pm

-Pack of honey gram crackers (1 oz.) with vanilla pillsbury icing

-2 slices of pizza with garlic butter (local Pizza place; pictured)

Jasons pizza

-3 16 oz lemonades

-Fruit flavored tonic water

-Small strawberry milkshake (Chick-fil-a)

-6 Krispy Kreme lemon cake doughnuts (pictured)

Jason doughnuts

Needless to say, I was ready to put more suitable food in my body immediately after swallowing the final doughnut.

Cheat Day is delayed gratification at its finest. The gratification is only made more gratifying when the diet is closely followed non-Cheat Days.
I plan to keep you posted on what non-nutritious things I put in my body on the next Cheat Day.

Tomorrow is Saturday and the first day of football season. With club level seats, tailgating and all of the wonderful other decadence that comes with football season, it could be a Cheat Day for the ages.

Leave a Reply

